Petroleum Economist Award 2018 Winners

LONDON (November 28, 2018) — Honouring the global energy industry's most successful firms, projects and innovations, Petroleum Economist announced the winners of its 2018 Petroleum Economist Awards in 18 categories. Additionally, five awards were given to outstanding individuals for their industry contributions.

Wellington Moreira Franco, Brazil’s minster of mines and energy, scooped the Minister of the Year award, while Mohammad Ghazi Al-Mutairi of Kuwait National Petroleum Company was honoured as CEO of the Year.

Peter Ratatics, executive vice-president for consumer services at Hungary’s MOL Group, won the Future Leader award and Aron Deen, director of marketing and business development at Ulterra Drilling Technologies, was named Energy Executive of the Year. In the evening’s finale, storied energy lawyer Sheila Hollis, chair of the Washington office of Duane Morris, accepted the Legacy award.

"The Petroleum Economist Awards is the one event that recognizes leaders around the globe in every major aspect of the petroleum industry," said John Royall, president and CEO of Gulf Energy Information and acting publisher of Petroleum Economist. "I would like to personally congratulate all of the 2018 winners for this recognition of their significant contributions to our industry."

The Petroleum Economist Awards 2018 categories and winners are:

  1. Energy Consultancy of the Year Deloitte Consulting LLP
  2. PR Company of the Year Instinctif Partners
  3. Legal Services Provider of the Year Bracewell (UK) LLP
  4. Energy Finance Provider of the Year Citi
  5. Hedging Advisor of the Year Mercatus Energy Advisors
  6. Energy Trading House of the Year Macquarie Group
  7. Technology Company of the Year ABB
  8. Service Company of the Year ABB
  9. Cleaner Energy Initiative of the Year Tesla Gigafactory
  10. CSR Programme of the Year Crab Hatchery Learning Centre Project, PTT Exploration and Production Public Company
  11. Exploration Company of the Year Eni
  12. Downstream Initiative of the Year Sadara Chemical Company
  13. Petrochemicals Company of the Year EQUATE
  14. Future Leader Peter Ratics, MOL Group
  15. Energy Executive of the Year Aron Deen, Ulterra Drilling Technologies LP
  16. Project of the Year Electric charging stations, Distribuidora Uruguaya de Combustibles SA
  17. LNG Project of the Year Petronas Floating Liquefied Natural Gas 1 (PFLNG 1), Petronas
  18. Energy Company of the Year (small cap) Energean
  19. Energy Company of the Year (mid cap) MOL Group
  20. Energy Company of the Year (large cap) Total
  21. Legacy Award Sheila Hollis, Duane Morris LLP
  22. Minister of the Year Wellington Moreira Franco, Brazil
  23. Chief Executive of the Year Mohammad Ghazi Al-Mutairi, Kuwait National Petroleum Company

The recipients learnt of their wins during a gala event held on 27 November at One Great George Street, Westminster. The evening's Master of Ceremony was World Cup-winning rugby star and former currency trader Will Greenwood.

Petroleum Economist is the authority on energy economics and trends, offering high-level intelligence and opinions on the events and people shaping the global energy market. Since 1934 readers have used our essential insight and intelligence to inform decisions and strategy, whether they lead state-owned or privately held companies.

For more details of all award winners visit

For more than 100 years, Gulf Energy Information has been the leading provider of business and technical knowledge for the global oil and gas industry. Since its formation in 1916, the company has evolved from a single publication—The Oil Weekly, which was dedicated to upstream activity in the Gulf Coast area of the United States—to a diversified media and market intelligence company. Gulf produces the oil and gas industry’s leading publications: World Oil, Hydrocarbon Processing, Gas Processing & LNG, Petroleum Economist, Pipeline & Gas Journal. In addition, Gulf also produces datasets (Construction Boxscore and Energy Web Atlas) containing in depth project and facility data.

Related Articles

India’s green hydrogen revolution taking shape

Major Indian companies are venturing into the sector thanks to government support, but cost and incentive questions persist

EU ETS prices fall sharply

Allowance prices in EU’s emissions cap-and-trade scheme drop by a third as lower power prices hit demand

India says doors wide open for energy investment

Hardeep Singh Puri says upstream oil is vital as country goes all out to boost its energy sector across E&P, gas, biofuels and hydrogen amid booming demand

Leadership Changes Announced at Gulf Energy Information

Gulf Energy Information (Gulf), a century-old provider of information to the global oil and gas and energy industries, has announced changes to its leadership structure, effective August 1, 2023.